Short May Long

 
I had a pleasant, if abbreviated, May long weekend this year. Some friends and I crammed geo-caching, paddling and al fresco dining into an eight hour period.
The weather was cool with a stiff north wind blowing which put my companions off paddling, however, I would not be deterred. Though I would not have gone out in a canoe, I have gone out in much rougher waters in a kayak, so I left my companions to their own devices on the shore. Their own devices turned out to be building a mega sand-castle and later… um… playing pat-a-cake. I have video proof!
I went up English river and saw ducks, geese, loons, a kingfisher and a heron, all at one view. The paddling was a little challenging but it felt really good to be on the water again.
I came back to a shore lunch of drunken cheeses, homemade breads, bbq’d turkey and noodle salad washed down with sherry and wine. 🙂 That made me feel a little better about having to spend the rest of the weekend in drudgery.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment